School Announcements: 24/09/2018

Key Stages

Foundation Stage:

From September 2008, the Foundation Stage changed to a new framework known as The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). This means that all providers offering care and education to children aged 0 – 5 will be working to the same framework and standards and following the same set of principles to ensure good practice across the age range.

Young children learn best through play and Early Years Practitioners will be able to provide your child with appropriate play and learning experiences for their stage of development to help them develop new skills. The activities that are provided for young children will underpin the skills they need to work towards the Early Learning Goals in the following areas at the end of their reception year in school.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

All areas are of equal importance and many activates will cover many of the areas. Each area is divided up into stages of development and practitioners are able to identify resources and learning opportunities for individual children dependent on their development needs.

The EYFS also encourages practitioners, parents and carers to work together to help children develop to their full potential.

Most of the programmes of work are planned through topics or themes which cover the three terms of the year. Using information from ongoing observation and assessment during the year, activities are planned to build on what the children already know. They are given the opportunity to work in large and small groups on both adult directed and self-initiated activities to help develop concentration, personal and social skills, resiliance and encourage independence.

As the year progresses children will take reading books home to share with you. They will also have a ‘Day Book’ for communication between home and school.
Key Stage One: (Year 1 & Year 2)

All class activities and lessons in Key Stage 1 are taught using a mixture of class, group and individual teaching methods. The National Curriculum in Key Stage 1 will be taught as part of carefully chosen topics but English and Maths are taught separately.

ICT is taught ‘distinctly’ as well as being used to support learning across the curriculum.

We are currently revising our curriculum to meet the requirements of the new National Curriculum for September 2014. We will be basing it on the International Primary Curriculum, personalised to our school.  The link to the I.P.C website is below.

Key Stage Two: (Year 3, Year 4 and Year 5)

Basic teaching methods in Key Stage 2 remain the same, i.e. a well-balanced mixture of teacher led class lessons, small group work and individual learning.

Skills in Mathematics and English are taught in a systematic and carefully planned way. Again, as in Key Stage 1, other subjects may be taught as topics.

ICT skills are developed systematically and children learn to use computers as a tool to aid learning across the curriculum. Italian is also taught.

The link to the I.P.C website is below.

Children are encouraged to read regularly and we do not view this as homework.

Key Stage 2 children have a homework notebook for both teacher and parent to sign.